A portion of Muskingum Township is divided into a zoning district as shown on the zoning map. The objective of Muskingum Township zoning is to protect the area from unrestricted development. The township created a Zoning Commission and Board of Zoning Appeals in 1954. Each group has five members who serve a five-year, staggered term basis. Members are appointed by trustees.

Zoning Board

The Zoning Board creates zoning regulations and makes recommendations on amendments for zoning changes that are directed to trustees for a final decision. The township has zoning for residential, commercial and industrial uses.

Members of the Zoning Board are:

Nancy Burnett, President  – 740-525-0860

Tim Stanley – 740-373-8119

Brandon Burnworth – 614-282-0525

Maureen Kertes – 207-232-7872

Megan Dowler –  440-537-0936

Laura Bradley, Clerk – 740-538-2301

Zoning Inspector

The Zoning Inspector can instruct residents on whether changes to their property will require review by the Zoning Board.

JJ Bichard – 740-629-5188 or                           jj.bichard@gmail.com


Zoning Board of Appeals

The Board of Zoning Appeals considers requests from residents seeking “area” and/or “use” variances from current regulations.

Members of the Board of Zoning Appeals are:


Steve Schoonover

Art Mendicino

Randy Barengo

Guthrie Chamberlain

Michael Brockett

Laura Bradley, Clerk – 740-538-2301

If you would like a fillable version of this form, you may contact muskingumtwp@muskingtwp.org